The Indiana Corn Growers Association has elected its 2015 board of directors. They hail from nine counties throughout the state. December 3, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Indiana Corn Growers Association elected nine farmer-members to serve on its board of directors during its annual meeting on December 2.

Earlier this year, the ICGA board voted to change the association's districts to align with Indiana's nine Congressional districts. The goal of realigning the districts is to allow the board to stay more closely connected with legislators in each district.

“We had a great response from corn farmers across the state stepping up to not only run for board seats but also to vote in the election,” said Herb Ringel, ICGA president and farmer from Wabash, Ind. “We are looking forward to coming together as a board to work on behalf of Hoosier corn farmers at the statehouse and in Washington, D.C. as we move into 2015.”

One farmer from each congressional district was elected during ICGA's annual meeting at the Glass Barn on the Indiana State Fairgrounds in Indianapolis. Newly elected directors include:

-District 1: Michael McIntire from Lowell, Ind. in Lake County

-District 2: Herbert Ringel from Wabash, Ind. in Wabash County

-District 3: Sarah Delbecq of Auburn, Ind. in Dekalb County

-District 4: Michael Beard of Frankfort, Ind. in Clinton County

-District 5: Ralph Kauffman of Atlanta, Ind. in Tipton County

-District 6: Ronnie Mohr of Greenfield, Ind. in Hancock County

-District 7: George Morton of Lebanon, Ind. in Boone County (Morton was elected to represent district 7 in the absence of other candidates from that district.)

-District 8: Michael Nichols of Rockport, Ind. in Spencer County

-District 9: Mike Flock of Ramsey, Ind. in Harrison County

ICGA held its annual meeting in conjunction with the Joint Policy Forum, co-hosted by Indiana Soybean Alliance's Membership & Policy Committee. The forum featured panels on federal, state and local issues facing farmers today, including speakers from National Corn Growers Association, American Soybean Association, and Indiana Farm Bureau.

“We appreciated hearing from Senator Jean Leising and Representative Don Lehe about what might happen in the General Assembly later this winter,” said Ringel. “The theme throughout the panels was that we, as farmers, need to know what is happening at all levels of our government and we need to be engaged with our elected officials whether that is in our county or in D.C.”

The ICGA board, which works with the state and federal governments to develop and promote sound policies that benefit Indiana corn farmers, consists of 9 farmer-directors who provide leadership to the organization on behalf of the nearly 800 ICGA members statewide.

This communications was NOT funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.

Source: The Indiana Corn Growers Association

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}