More than a dozen Hoosiers have received 2014 Torchbearer Awards from the Indiana Commission for Women. Honorees were selected based on contributions that have made the state a better place to “live, work and raise a family.” March 6, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Indiana Commission for Women (ICW) presented 14 women with a Torchbearer Award Wednesday, March 5, 2014 at its 10th Annual Ceremony at the Indiana Historical Society in Indianapolis. The women honored were selected from nominations submitted from around the state and have each made Indiana a better place to live, work and raise a family.

“Indiana Torchbearers are those women who have been pioneers throughout their lives or who have stepped forward as leaders by breaking down barriers to women's full participation,” said Kristin Garvey, Executive Director for the Indiana Commission for Women. “These women have become true beacons of light and their stories of courage, perseverance and compassion create a lasting legacy of inspiration for us all.”

Provided below are a list of awardees:

-Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann, Ferdinand, Indiana

-Terri Austin, Anderson, Indiana

-Betty Cockrum, Indianapolis, Indiana

-Angela Espada, Indianapolis, Indiana

-Cathlin Gray, Evansville, Indiana

-Lisa Harris, Indianapolis, Indiana

-Joyce Irwin, Indianapolis, Indiana

-Velshonna Luckey, South Bend, Indiana

-Alison Martin-Book, Indianapolis, Indiana

-Deborah McMahan, Ft. Wayne, Indiana

-Terri Morris Downs, Indianapolis, Indiana

-Julie Lynn Myers, Martinsville, Indiana

-Margret Robb, West Lafayette, Indiana

-Ellen Rosenthal, Indianapolis, Indiana

About the Indiana Commission for Women

The Indiana Commission for Women is committed to the full participation of women in all aspects of society in order to live, work and raise a family. ICW works to move Indiana women forward by understanding the needs of Indiana women and their families and by working strategically both within government and in our communities to help bring about positive solutions.


{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}