Indiana businesses are trying to return to normal as the frigid temperatures continue. That includes malls owned by Simon Property Group throughout central Indiana. Many are expected to re-open after being closed yesterday. The Indiana General Assembly is slated to begin its 2014 session this afternoon after being delayed by a day. Governor Mike Pence has issued disaster declarations for 29 counties. That action is needed to potentially secure federal funds to help the state cover the costs of dealing with the weather. Our partners at WTHR in Indianapolis report parts of the state are experiencing some of the coldest temperatures in two decades.

January 6, 2014

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. — Governor Mike Pence has declared a state of disaster emergency for 29 counties affected by the severe weather that began on January 5.

“As a result of the severe snowstorms, extreme cold and dangerous wind conditions that have impacted counties across Indiana, I have declared a state of disaster emergency in the 29 counties that were most affected by the storm, and the State of Indiana stands ready to assist Hoosiers as needed,” said Governor Pence. “We will continue to respond to this serious winter storm and evaluate its impact on other Indiana counties going forward.”

The counties included in the declaration are: Clinton, Delaware, Elkhart, Fulton, Grant, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Newton, Noble, Porter, Pulaski, Rush, St. Joseph, Starke, Steuben, Sullivan, Tipton, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, White, and Whitley.

Assessments are ongoing and more counties may be added if needed.

Sources: Office of Indiana Governor Mike Pence, WTHR, Inside INdiana Business

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}