The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in New Castle has named its 2014 women's class. The inductees will be honored during a ceremony in April. December 17, 2013

News Release

NEW CASTLE, Ind. – Loaded with basketball talent and tradition, the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame proudly announces their 2014 womens induction class, to be honored at the 13th annual Womens Awards Banquet on Saturday, April 26, 2014.

Ellen DeVoe was an all-state player and all-American for the 22-2 1982 Brebeuf state finalists under Hall of Fame coach Alan Vickrey. She was a four-year starter and record holder at Princeton University, where she graduated as their 2nd all-time leading scorer (1,290 points) and remains their 2nd all-time leading rebounder (942) and all-time blocks leader (157). She remains in the top 10 in seven career statistics and still holds their single game scoring record (38) and three of the top 10 single game scoring efforts in Princeton history. She is an associate professor and PhD Program Director at the Boston University School of Social Work. She resides in Newton, Massachusetts.

Marilyn (Reckelhoff) Dippel scored a school record 1,496 points at Southridge High School, also setting numerous other records averaging 24.1 points and 12 rebounds per game her senior season. She scored 1,198 career points at the University of Louisville, graduating as the school's 3rd all-time leading scorer, all-time leader in free throws made, and in the top 10 of nine career statistical categories. Inducted into the University of Louisville Athletic Hall of Fame, she has also coached high school basketball in Kentucky, Vermont and Indiana. She resides in Huntingburg.

Laura Foreman was a three-year team MVP and Marion County all-county selection under Hall of Fame coach Sue Parrish at Warren Central, where she led teams to three consecutive sectional championships. At the University of Indianapolis, she set game (14), season (152) and career (481) assist records and graduated as their 3rd all-time leading scorer (1,087) and 5th all-time leading rebounder (416). She was a four-year all-conference player and named the GLVC Conference Player of the Year her senior season. Since 1988 she has been employed by Franklin Township (Indianapolis) schools.

Greg Kirby turned the Valparaiso High School girls program into a state power, leading them to 324 wins (.848 winning percentage) over 16 seasons (1990-2006), including 12 sectional championships, eight regional titles, four semi-state victories and two state runner-up finishes (1996, 2000). Previously the boys head coach at Portage High School (1978-1987), he won 115 games there. The Illinois native also served as associate womens coach at Valparaiso University from 2006-2012. He resides in Valparaiso.

Kim (Barrier) McGuire set 48 Jimtown girls basketball game, season and career records on her way to being named Indiana’s 1986 Miss Basketball. The Converse High School All-American scored 1,827 points in her high school career, graduating as Indiana’s 3rd all-time leading girls scorer, Elkhart County’s all-time leading scorer and the first Indiana high school girl to score 50+ points twice in her career. She averaged 30.0 points, 10.8 rebounds and shot 52.2% from the field her senior season, leading to the Miss Basketball title. She became a two-year captain at Western Michigan University, where she was voted all-conference and team MVP. An assistant high school coach for numerous years, she resides in Elkhart.

Teri Moren was a part of four sectional champions, two regional champions and the 1987 state finalists, leading to an Indiana All-Star selection and spot in Seymour record books. Playing under Hall of Fame coach Donna Sullivan, Moren remains 4th in career scoring (1,138 points), 4th in career assists (311), 2nd in career steals (251) and holds the season field goals made record (203). At Purdue with Hall of Fame coach Lin Dunn, Moren graduated among the program’s career leaders in assists (275) and steals (116), as a member of the program’s 1st NCAA tournament team. Previously an assistant womens coach at Butler University, Northwestern University and Georgia Tech University, she served seven seasons as head coach of the University of Indianapolis (2000-2007) and is currently in her fourth season as head coach at Indiana State University.

Lori (Meinerding) Morris-DeVries helped Fort Wayne Northrop to the longest winning streak in Indiana girls basketball history, leading to a 1986 state championship victory and 1987 Indiana Miss Basketball honor. Morris-DeVries accumulated 1,352 points, 882 rebounds and 322 steals at Northrop, guiding them to a 57-game winning streak and consecutive state finals appearances. Playing under Hall of Fame coach Dave Riley, she was named the 1987 IHSAA Mental Attitude Award winner. A four-year player at Indiana University, she has been employed with Eli Lilly since 1996.

Brenda (Kelsay) Simmons left her mark on the Shelbyville girls basketball program, leaving as their all-time leading scorer (1,374 points) and 1st Indiana All-Star in program history. Averaging 24.0 points her junior year and 26.0 points her senior year, she scored 30 or more points five times her senior season, including a school-record 41. She still holds game (11) and career (347) steals records. Following an injury shortened career at Purdue University, she was varsity girls head coach at Shelbyville from 1986-1996 and an assistant coach at Columbus North from 1997-2002. She is employed with Simmons Winery and Farm Market in Columbus.

Lisha (Robertson) Wilson was the first Johnson County girls player to score 1,000 points and first girl from the county to be named an Indiana All-Star. Wilson scored 1,032 career points, leading Center Grove to an undefeated regular season and #4 ranking her senior season. An all-state selection, she helped the Trojans to 60 wins over four seasons. Wilson scored a program record 1,516 points at Indiana Wesleyan University, leading to All-American honors her senior season. Since 1984, she has been employed at R.H. Marlin Crane Rental. She resides in Trafalgar.

Jenny (Eckert) Zorger totaled 1,365 points – a program record – at Huntington North before a record-setting career at Ball State University. She still holds career points and steals (373) and single game scoring (35) records at Huntington North and remains among their career leaders in several other significant categories including rebounds (479) and assists (228). A 1986 Indiana All-Star (the school’s first), she helped lead the Vikings to their 2nd ever girls sectional championship, starting a streak of 12 consecutive sectional titles through the late 1990’s. Named Ball State’s Player of the Decade (1980’s), the two-time all-MAC player and 1990 Conference Player of the Year graduated as the Cardinals’ 2nd all-time leading scorer (1,432) and all-time leader in steals (319) and assists (471). Playing one season in the professional Women’s Basketball Association, she has remained close to the game as a high school coach, currently girls varsity assistant at Columbia City High School.

The recipient of this year's Silver Medal, which includes Hall of Fame induction, is University of Notre Dame head coach Muffet McGraw. The Silver Medal is given in recognition of contributions to Indiana high school basketball other than as an Indiana high school player or high school coach. McGraw is in her 27th season as head coach of the Irish, amassing over 600 wins and over 700 wins in her 32-year overall head coaching career. Establishing the South Bend program among the nation’s elite, she led the Irish to the 2001 National Championship victory, five Final Four appearances and three times to national championship game appearances. A two-time consensus National Coach of the Year and five-time conference Coach of the Year, her teams have won nine conference championships a

Story Continues Below