INDIANAPOLIS - With the departure this year of several members of the Indiana General Assembly, Indiana House Speaker Brian Bosma (R-Indianapolis) has released  updated House standing committee assignments.

Committee assignments are made biennially after each election. But Bosma says with the retirement of State Rep. Dave Frizzell (R-Indianapolis) and departure of State Rep. Kevin Mahan (R-Hartford City), several committees had vacancies, including two chair positions. 
“Our team is fortunate to have a deep bench of talented legislators who are ready to step into committee leadership roles, and I’m confident they’ll hit the ground running next session,” Bosma said. 

Here are some of the assignments made by Bosma:

  • State Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) will chair the House Family, Children and Human Affairs Committee
  • State Rep. Jim Pressel (R-Rolling Prairie) will serve as chair of the House Government and Regulatory Reform Committee.
  • State Rep. Ethan Manning (R-Denver) will step into the role of vice-chair of the House Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications Committee 
  • State Rep. David Abbott (R-Rome City) will serve as vice-chair of the House Government and Regulatory Reform Committee.

Bosma says each of the new caucus members, including State Reps. Dollyne Sherman (R-Indianapolis) and Ann Vermilion (R-Marion,) will serve on the same committees as their predecessors. 

Bosma also selected State Rep. Cindy Kirchhofer (R-Indianapolis) to join the Indiana House Republican leadership team as assistant majority floor leader, which was vacated by Frizzell.
Click here to download the complete list of House standing committee appointments.