DEKALB COUNTY - The Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs has announced six sites to be part of the Rural Opportunity Zone Initiative. These sites will receive resources such as technical assistance and capacity-building support.

OCRA says the initiative aims to enrich rural Indiana and attract private, public and/or philanthropic investments that support the communities. 

The selected county sites are as follows:

  • Crawford
  • Daviess
  • DeKalb
  • Knox
  • Newton
  • Switzerland

"The goal with this initiative is to equip the leadership in rural opportunity zones with necessary materials to attract capital to their designated areas,” said Jodi Golden, executive director of OCRA, in a news release. "By maximizing their potential, these sites will be positioned to be competitive with opportunity zones from around the nation."