INDIANAPOLIS - Governor Eric Holcomb has announced the Next Level Teacher Compensation Commission will hold input sessions as part of an effort to address the issue of teacher pay. Holcomb's office says the commission and advisory council, which include education and business leaders, have been created to develop a plan to make teacher pay competitive with surrounding states.

The commission will voice the recommendations to the governor and the General Assembly prior to the 2021 legislative session. The sessions will take place on the following dates, though specific times and locations will be released at a later date:

  • Monday, August 19: Indianapolis
  • Saturday, August 24: Evansville
  • Tuesday, August 27: Elkhart

Member of the Next Level Teacher Compensation Commission include:

  • Commission Chairman Michael L. Smith (Indianapolis), former chairman, president and chief executive officer of Mayflower Group and former executive vice president and CFO of Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield
  • Melissa Ambre (Noblesville), director of the Office of School Finance for the Indiana Department of Education
  • Jená Bellezza (Gary), COO of Indiana Parenting Institute
  • Tom Easterday (Zionsville), former senior executive vice president, secretary & chief legal officer for Subaru of Indiana Automotive
  • Rebecca Gardenour (New Albany), member of the New Albany-Floyd County Board of School Trustees and member of the Indiana School Boards Association
  • Marianne Glick (Indianapolis), chair of the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation and board member of the Gene B. Glick Company
  • Emily Holt (Arcadia), math teacher at Westfield High School
  • Dan Holub (Indianapolis), executive director of the Indiana State Teachers Association
  • Katie Jenner (Madison), senior education advisor to Gov. Holcomb
  • Bob Jones (Evansville), chairman and CEO of Old National Bancorp
  • Nancy Jordan (Fort Wayne), senior vice president of Lincoln Financial Group
  • Lee Ann Kwiatkowski (Greenwood), director of public education and CEO of Muncie Community Schools
  • Denise Seger (Granger), chief human resource officer for Concord Community Schools in Elkhart
  • David Smith (Evansville), superintendent of Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation