INDIANAPOLIS - Lieutenant Governor Suzanne Crouch and the Indiana Family and Social Service Administration’s Division of Aging have announced 23 senior citizens have received the 2019 Golden Hoosier award. The award annually honors senior citizens for service and commitment to the state.

The following individuals are this year’s Golden Hoosier award recipients:

• Bob Bowman, New Castle

• Nancy Conner, Columbus

• Marilyn Edmonds, Windfall

• Merlin Foresman, Hebron

• Nancy Griffin, Indianapolis

• Thomas Hirons, Indianapolis

• Elsie Hofmann, Connersville

• Ethylgene Josh, Vincennes

• Virginia “Jenny” Kirkham, Palmyra

• Pat Koch, Santa Claus

• Robert Lacer, Newburgh

• William Lewellen, Richmond

• Stanley Madison, Lyles Station

• Sister Jane Michele McClure, Evansville

• Bertie McKenna, Connersville

• Elizabeth Mitchell, Bloomington

• Cherie Rump, Dillsboro

• Bernice Stacey, New Castle

• Phyllis Stewart, Vincennes

• Inez Voyles, Corydon

• David White, Bloomington

• Shirley Willard, Rochester

• Lorrie Woycik, Valparasio

“With more than 80 submissions from individuals across the state, it was certainly difficult to narrow it down to 23 exceptional senior citizens,” Crouch said in a news release. “This year, we really expanded the program and could not have done it without our partnerships with AARP Indiana and the Eugene and Marylin Glick Indiana History Center.”