INDIANAPOLIS - The Indiana House Republican Caucus and Indiana House Democratic Caucus have announced their leadership teams for the 2019 General Assembly. House Speaker Brian Bosma (R-88) will remain in the role for a sixth term. Phil GiaQuinta (D-80) will succeed Terry Goodin (D-66) as leader of the minority party. The GOP will again maintain a supermajority in the House in the upcoming legislative session.

Bosma says "this session, House Republicans are focused on fueling Indiana's economic momentum and delivering another structurally balanced state budget while funding our state's critical priorities. I look forward to working alongside strong leaders in the House and Senate, and Governor Holcomb as we keep our state moving in the right direction."

Additional Republican leadership roles include Greg Steuerwald (R-40), who will serve as Majority Caucus Chair for the first time, and Matt Lehman (R-79), who will return as Majority Floor Leader.

For Democrats in 2019, Mara Candelaria Reardon (D-12) will be Caucus Chair and Cherrish Pryor (D-94) will serve as Floor Leader.

GiaQuinta says "I am honored that my colleagues in the House Democratic Caucus have chosen me to be their leader. I am pleased that our caucus was able to pick up seats in Tuesday's election, but I feel that we can do more to ensure that all Hoosiers are given a voice in their state government. We have a growing number of diverse voices in the House Democratic Caucus, and I intend to use their skills to provide a vision of how government can work for the people of Indiana. We will begin to articulate that vision in the 2019 legislative session."

Organization Day, which is the first unofficial gathering of the next legislative session, is slated for November 20 and the 121st General Assembly will officially convene January 8.