INDIANAPOLIS - The Indiana State AFL-CIO has elected its officers for 2018. Brett Voorhies, representing United Steelworkers Local 1999 in Indianapolis, will once again serve as president.

Voorhies was first elected president in 2013 after serving as president of what was then known as the Central Indiana Labor Council for two years. The AFL-CIO says, during his tenure, union membership has grown despite the passage of Indiana's Right-to-Work law.

"I am proud to serve this organization representing more than 300,000 hardworking union members and their families and to continue building a legacy for Indiana’s labor movement," said Voorhies. "Our goal going forward is to unite all labor in the state of Indiana, union and non-union, to come together to demand change for working Hoosiers."

Shawn Crist was also re-elected to serve a second term as secretary-treasurer.