WASHINGTON, D.C. - Seven schools in Indiana have been named Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education. The award recognizes schools that maintain excellence and feature the best in leadership and teaching practices. In all, 342 schools have received the honor this year.

Indiana Superintendent Jennifer McCormick says "when provided with a nurturing environment, a dedicated educator, and unwavering support, we know every child is capable of achieving at their highest level. I want to congratulate and thank Indiana's Blue Ribbon Schools for creating an educational atmosphere where excellence thrives and students are challenged every day to reach their full potential."

Indiana recipients include:

  • Barr-Reeve Elementary School (Barr-Reeve Community Schools)
  • College Wood Elementary School (Carmel Clay Schools)
  • Eden Elementary School (Greenfield-Central Community Schools)
  • James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School (New Castle Community Schools)
  • Maple Elementary School (Avon Community School Corp)
  • White Lick Elementary School (Brownsburg Community Schools)
  • Zionsville Pleasant View Elementary School (Zionsville Community Schools)

You can connect to the full list of winners by clicking here.