INDIANAPOLIS - Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Jennifer McCormick says as future work force needs continue to trend toward STEM-related fields, it's important to recognize student achievements. The state has introduced the winners of the 2017 Governor's STEM Team awards, the program replacing the former Mr. and Miss Indiana Science and Math awards. McCormick says "success in the areas of science, technology, engineering, and math drives our students and our state forward."

In an interview with Inside INdiana Business, McCormick said the need to fill STEM-focused jobs will continue to grow. She says the state is expected to have around a million STEM jobs to fill over the next decade. "The type of work force that we need for that is pretty consistent," McCormick says. "We need folks who are very interested in STEM, that have a passion for that area, that are very talented, that are creative. Sometimes people don't think of STEM folks as being very creative, but our work force in Indiana has been very clear on that need."

The inaugural Governor's STEM Team award winners are:

Science Winner

Ujwala Pamidimukkala, Senior,  Columbus North High School

Technology Winner

Samantha Fassnacht, Senior, Westfield High School

Engineering Winner

Miranda Shook, Senior, Greenfield-Central High School

Math Winner

Truman Bennet, Senior, Marion High School

Winners were selected from more than 100 applications and each will receive a $1,000 college scholarship through Indiana’s CollegeChoice 529 Direct Savings Plan, as well as STEM Team letterman jackets and tickets to Gen Con Indy.

You can connect to more about the winners by clicking here.

Pictured Left to Right: Ujwala Pamidimukkala, Samantha Fassnacht, Indiana Treasurer Kelly Mitchell, Indiana Governor Eric J. Holcomb, Miranda Shook, Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Truman Bennet.