The Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs has selected five communities for the next generation of the Hometown Collaboration Initiative. The program aims to assist small communities with economic and leadership development projects.

The fifth generation of HCI communities includes the towns of Albion and Cumberland, cities of Angola and Washington, and Brown County. Each community has to make presentations to the state showing how the HCI program could benefit their local community and economic development initiatives.

OCRA did not release specific details on the projects of each community. However, they will focus on one of three building block options: Economy, Leadership, or Placemaking. 

Previous communities named in the program include Auburn, Bremen, Corydon, Crawford County, Decatur, Lebanon, Logansport, Orange County, Perry County, Pulaski County, Rush County, Seymour, Spencer County, and Vermillion County, 

The Hometown Collaboration Initiative is a partnership among OCRA, the Indiana Communities Institute at Ball State University and the Center for Regional Development at Purdue University. You can learn more about the program by clicking here.