TechPoint has named Indianapolis-based Angie's List (NYSE: ANGI) co-founder Angie Hicks the winner of its annual Trailblazer Award. The state's tech initiative will honor Hicks during the 18th annual Mira Awards this month in Indianapolis.

TechPoint Chief Executive Officer Mike Langellier says Hicks' story of taking a big risk serves as "an inspiration to a new generation of Hoosier entrepreneurs who are following in her footsteps and choosing to build their businesses in Indiana."

Hicks founded the company in 1995 with venture capitalist Bill Oesterle. Angie's List has grown to more than 1,500 employees and five million members using its home service contractor review platform. The company says its move last year to drop the paywall for online reviews led to nearly two million new members.

TechPoint says it is also honoring Hicks for using her success and influence to benefit the community and local business. She helped launch the Governor Bob Orr Indiana Entrepreneurial Fellowship Program and worked to improve Willard Park in Indianapolis after locating the company's corporate headquarters on East Washington Street in downtown Indianapolis.

Previous Trailblazer Award winners include Scott McCorkle, Chris Baggot, Jo Ann Gora and Michael McRobbie.

Last week, TechPoint announced Michigan-based Plymouth Growth Partners and Partner Jeff Barry as this year's Investor of the Year Award winners.

The 18th annual Mira Awards are Saturday, April 29 at The Westin Indianapolis. The organization will present awards including Tech Company of the Year, Scale-up Company of the Year, New Startup of the Year, Rising Star, Tech Educator of the Year, Community Champion, Company Culture of the Year and Best New Tech Product.