INDIANAPOLIS - Twenty-one school districts will receive support from the state for technology implementation. The Indiana Department of Education Digital Learning Grants for 2016 total more than $1.5 million.

The funding will support school corporations looking to launch or expand technology plans involving one computer for each student, called 1:1 technology plans.

Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz says "I am excited to announce the recipients of the 2016 Digital Learning Grant. In today's fast-paced, technology-driven society, grants like this are more important than ever. Importantly, this grant provides schools with the resources they need to expand student access to technology in the classroom."

Districts can use the grants for professional development, content development, improving parent and student communication and device purchases.

Recipients get $75,000 from the David C. Ford Technology Fund.

The 2016 Digital Learning Grantees are:

  • Anderson Community School Corporation
  • Attica Consolidated School Corporation
  • DeKalb County Central United Schools
  • Elwood Community School Corporation
  • Greater Clark Community Schools
  • Irvington Community School
  • Madison Consolidated Schools
  • MSD Washington Township Schools
  • New Albany Floyd County Schools
  • Northwestern School Corporation
  • Randolph Southern School Corporation
  • Rush County Schools
  • Shelby Eastern School Corporation
  • South Central Community School Corporation
  • South Putnam Community Schools
  • Vincennes Community School Corporation
  • Washington Community Schools
  • West Noble School Corporation
  • West Washington School Corporation
  • Whitko Community Schools
  • Whitley County Consolidated Schools

You can connect to more about the grants by clicking here.