The WestGate@Crane Authority has elected Daviess County Economic Development Foundation Project Coordinator Natalie Smith to its board. She is the first woman to serve on the authority since it was formed in 2006.

January 16, 2015

News Release

Crane, Ind. — Another piece of the glass ceiling shattered Tuesday, January 13, when the WestGate@Crane Authority convened for its first regular board meeting of 2015. In addition to electing officers, new board member, Natalie Smith (Daviess County) was recognized. Smith is the first woman to serve on the Authority since its inception in 2006.

Smith replaces Richard Cottrell, and will serve on the body's Governance Committee, where she says her background in law, insurance, and accounting will be put to good use.

“WestGate is such a unique area,” said Smith, “I have watched this place grow, and now I'm proud to be part of it.” Smith is an alumna of Indiana University, where she majored in accounting. She has been a life-long resident of Daviess County, where she supported local businesses, including Hastings-Williams Insurance and Destination Yachts, as well as working alongside her husband, Daviess County Circuit Court Judge Gregory Smith, in his law practice. She earned an electronics degree from Vincennes University, and worked as a technician before joining the Daviess County Economic Development Foundation, where she says she has been able to use all the skills she has acquired in her career.

Authority President, John Mensch, recognized Smith, also noting that Daviess County Treasurer, Elaine Wellman, has also supported the Authority, though not in a voting capacity. The Daviess County Treasurer's official duties include serving as Treasurer to the Authority, a role Wellman took over when she assumed office in April 2013. Wellman was quick to recognize Smith as the first woman to serve as a full-fledged member of the Authority.

The Authority also elected its 2015 slate of officers. John Mensch (Greene County) will again serve as President, and Don Bowling (Martin County) will continue to serve as Vice President. Bowling is the only original member of the Authority who is still serving. Phil O'Hayer (Daviess County) will replace Richard Cottrell as Secretary.

About WestGate@Crane Technology Park:

The WestGate@Crane Technology Park is Indiana's only tri-county tech park, encompassing parts of Daviess, Greene, and Martin counties. Partnering with NSA Crane, I-69 Innovation Corridor, Indiana Office of Defense Development, and WorkOne, the park is home to Fortune 500 Companies, small businesses, and the premier WestGate Academy Conferencing and Training Center. The WestGate@Crane Tech Park is the ideal location for business to grow and thrive.

Learn more at

Source: WestGate@Crane Technology Park

Story Continues Below