The Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce has announced winners of its annual business honors. Categories include the ATHENA Leadership Award and Young Leader of the Year Award. August 28, 2014

News Release

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – Members of the Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce filled Hulman Center tonight for the 101st Annual Meeting featuring the presentation of four prestigious business awards. A crowd of over 700 community business leaders and professionals were on hand to celebrate the evening.

The following individuals and companies were recognized: Rachel Leslie was presented with the ATHENA Leadership Award, Indiana State University was honored with Vision A Level Above, Jon Scherle received recognition as the Young Leader of the Year and CSN, LLC was recognized as the this year's Business A Level Above recipient. The suite of awards was sponsored by the Tribune-Star Publishing Company.

“Vision, Business and Leadership – all qualities which were recognized this evening and the Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce is honored to offer them a tip of the hat and the recognition that they deserve,” stated David Haynes, President.

For more information on the awards and recipients, see the information below:

ATHENA Leadership Award

The ATHENA Leadership Award, sponsored Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College and driven by Fuson Automotive, is presented to an individual who has demonstrated excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession, provided valuable services by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community and actively assisted women in realizing their full potential.

The 2014 ATHENA Leadership Award recipient, Rachel Leslie, Chief External Relations Officer, was specifically recognized for her “always present” mentality and willingness to jump in and lend a hand to make sure projects are completed. She is genuinely interested in helping others achieve their full potential. Her past and present involvements have included the Chamber, United Way of the Wabash Valley, Vigo County Education Foundation, Wabash Valley Leadership Institute and Terre Haute International Airport.

ATHENA is an international program which has honored more than 6,700 individuals in hundreds of cities across the United States, as well as in Canada, China, Russia and the United Kingdom. First presented in the early 1990's, the ATHENA Leadership Award has previously honored several outstanding women in the community, including: Sister Barbara Doherty, Marilyn Pendergast, Beth Tevlin, Sydney Bell, Jeanette Winchester, Becky Buse, Marla Flowers, Claudia Tanoos, Patrece Dayton, Sara Smith, Carol Roesch, Dottie King and Sara Arnett.

Vision A Level Above

Vision, A Level Above, sponsored by Indiana State University, recognizes an organization or individuals who have made a significant impact on the Terre Haute community. The specific areas of focus include Arts, Communications, Economic Development and Education. They also include Natural Environment and Community Appearance as well as Resource and Funding.

Indiana State University was honored for the creativity and implementation of their long-term Master Plan. Specifically, the achievement of starting construction of the new track and field facility and integration into the downtown landscape were acknowledged. Past recipients of this award have included Major General Martin Umbarger, Greg Gibson, Tim Dora, the Terre Haute Children's Museum Board of Directors, Sisters of Providence, First Financial Bank, Wabash Valley Community Foundation, Keith Ruble and Art Spaces/Arts Illiana.

Young Leader of the Year

The Young Leader of the Year award, sponsored by Terre Haute Young Leaders with scholarship support from the Wabash Valley Leadership Institute, is presented to an individual with a demonstrated commitment to attract and retain young talent in the Terre Haute community.

The 2014 recipient, Jon Scherle, is a dedicated member of the Terre Haute Young Leaders organization who volunteers her time to a wide variety of community organizations, including Downtown Terre Haute, United Way of the Wabash Valley and Indiana Special Olympic Games. As Vice President of Commercial Lending for First Financial Bank, he has also demonstrated how hard work, being a team player and learning from mentors in the field and dedication can lead to a progressive career path.

First presented in 2011, the Young Leader of the Year Award recognizes individuals who possess values consistent with those of Terre Haute Young Leaders and an unwavering responsibility to community programs that elevate the overall quality of life in Terre Haute. Previous recipients include Stephanie Miller, Whitney Gurman-Roberts and Ellie Caldwell.

Business A Level Above Award

The Business A Level Above award, powered by Vectren, honors an outstanding business of the year in the Wabash Valley, an organization which is committed to being a leader in the community as the pinnacle of business growth and development. This year's recipient, CSN, LLC, was recognized for their commitment to bringing positive growth to the community. Based in Sao Paulo, Brazil, CSN was recognized for its commitment to the local community and the significant commitment of resources to the 800,000 facility. Recipients of this prestigious award clearly demonstrate an entrepreneurial spirit, taking risks and making investments in terms of time and money to grown businesses and jobs in the community. Past recipients have included Sony DADC, Pfizer, Inc., Clabber Girl Corporation, Duke Energy, Union Hospital, GE Aviation, ADVICS Manufacturing, ThyssenKrupp Presta and Thompson Thrift.

About the Chamber

Established in 1913, the Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce has been and always will be, committed to creating a community that is a great place to live, work and do business. Its mission is to preserve, protect and promote a business friendly environment free of obstacles to growth and development.

Source: Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce

Story Continues Below