Indiana University graduates have re-elected Patrick Shoulders to the IU Board of Trustees. The Evansville attorney has been elected to the board on multiple occasions since 2002. June 30, 2014

News Release

Bloomington, Ind. — Indiana University graduates have re-elected Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville, Ind., to the IU Board of Trustees.

Shoulders, a member of the law firm of Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel & Shoulders in Evansville, was initially appointed as an IU trustee in 2002, and then was elected by alumni to the board again in 2005, 2008 and 2011. Shoulders received 11,296 votes in this year’s election, defeating challenger Andrew Baldwin of San Francisco, who received 5,678 votes.

“I am honored that our alumni have allowed me to continue working for old IU,” Shoulders said. “We have an excellent board, and I am proud to be a part of it.”

In accordance with state law, the annual election is conducted by the dean of University Libraries on the IU Bloomington campus, with assistance from the IU Alumni Association. Library staff and students undertook the task of counting nearly 17,000 ballots. This year’s election marked the highest voter turnout since 2010.

“Trustee Shoulders has served IU admirably, enthusiastically and with great distinction for more than a decade,” IU President Michael A. McRobbie said. “During this time, IU has made remarkable strides in strengthening its academic core, improving the quality of education for our students and responding to major trends that are transforming the landscape of higher education. Pat has played a key role in many decisions important to ensuring the university’s future, and we look forward to his continued strong service as IU approaches its bicentennial in 2020.”

Shoulders holds two IU degrees: a J.D. (magna cum laude) from the IU McKinney School of Law and a bachelor of arts from IU Bloomington. He chaired the IU Alumni Association in 2000 and has served on the Varsity Club and IU Foundation Board of Directors.

He is a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and has played a leadership role in a number of professional organizations. He has long been deeply involved in the Evansville community, devoting his time to organizations involved with youth and in the arts, recreation, public broadcasting, local government and education. He received the Hine Medal from IUPUI in 2005, a Sagamore of the Wabash in 1996 and the Herman Wells Leadership Award from Sigma Nu Fraternity in 2005.

This was the seventh year that alumni could vote online, and 12,260 ballots were cast in that manner. There were 4,714 valid paper ballots.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Philip N. Eskew Jr. of North Webster, Ind., and MaryEllen Kiley Bishop, who were re-elected to three-year terms in 2012 and 2013, respectively.

The remaining trustees are appointed by the governor of Indiana. Gov. Mike Pence will soon be appointing two new trustees to replace current chair Thomas E. Reilly Jr. and William R. Cast.

Source: Indiana University

Story Continues Below