Governor Mike Pence has named appointees to the Indiana Motorsports Commission. They include Office of Management and Budget Director Chris Atkins, who will serve as chair, and former Indiana Sports Corp. Chairman Earl Goode.

August 14, 2013

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. — Today, Governor Mike Pence named appointees to the Indiana Motorsports Commission, which is tasked with working with the Indiana Finance Authority to create a sound, commercially-viable investment for motorsports in Indiana. The Governor signed HEA 1544 into law on May 10, 2013.

“Indiana's motorsports industry contributes to the fiscal and economic health of our state, employing approximately 23,000 Hoosiers,” said Governor Pence. “The individuals named today to the new Motorsports Commission bring first-hand experience in the industry and expertise in financial management. Under their guidance, I am certain that the Indiana Motorsports Commission will responsibly manage investments and ensure the best possible outcome for all Hoosier taxpayers, race fans, and industry employees in Indiana.”

Tom Kelley, of Fort Wayne, has been named to the Commission. Kelley, who began his career in the automobile sales industry in 1974, is Dealer Operator and President of five dealerships in Allen and Adams counties. In 1998, Kelley founded Kelley Racing, an Indy Racing League team that ran from 1998 to 2004. During that time, the team captured nine wins under drivers Scott Sharp, Mark Dismore and Al Unser, Jr. Active within his community, Kelley has served on a number of boards including those of Big Brothers Big Sisters, the Boys and Girls Club of Fort Wayne, the YMCA, Junior Achievement, and the Arthritis Foundation. Kelley is also the founder of Sycamore Hills Golf Club and a member of the Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce. He earned his undergraduate degree from Indiana University.

Involved in motorsports since the age of five, Tim Clauson, of Noblesville, will join the Indiana Motorsport Commission. Currently the Regional Vice President of Sales for the Rotary Corporation, where he has worked for 19 years, Clauson has held a variety of roles in the motorsports industry including driver and mechanic. He also has been involved in team management and ownership. Along with his son Bryan Clauson, who was a 2012 Indianapolis 500 starter and is a six-time USAC national champion, he co-owns and manages a professional race team that competes in the USAC National Series. In 2010 and 2011, the team earned the title of USAC National Midget Owner National Champion, and, in 2012, it managed the 2012 USAC National Sprint Car Owner National Champion.

Former chairman of the Indiana Sports Corporation from 2001 to 2005, Earl Goode has been named to the Commission. Most recently, Goode served as Governor Daniels’ Chief of Staff from 2006 to 2013 and, earlier, as Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Administration. Prior to serving in state government, Goode worked for 39 years at GTE, now Verizon, from which he retired as President of Information Services. He has also served as Director for Sallie Mae Corporation, Goodwill Industries Foundation and Legacy Community Foundation. Goode, of Indianapolis, currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Trustees at Georgetown College, his alma mater.

Ryan Kitchell, of Zionsville, will join the Commission, offering extensive experience in finance management. Currently Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Indiana University Health, Kitchell previously served in state government as Public Finance Director and later Director of the Office of Management and Budget under Governor Mitch Daniels. He has also served in financial capacities at Eli Lilly and Company and Prudent Capital Group. Kitchell earned his undergraduate degree from Indiana University and his masters degree from Dartmouth College.

Chris Atkins, Director of the Office of Management and Budget, will serve as Chairman of the Indiana Motorsports Commission.

Source: Office of Indiana Governor Mike Pence

Story Continues Below