Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership Chief Executive Officer John Sampson will join representatives from Delaware and Decatur counties next week on a trip to China. The group will work to strengthen sister city relationships and promote the state's economic assets.

September 5, 2013

News Release

Fort Wayne, Ind. — The Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership announced today that its president and CEO, John Sampson, will be joining a trip to China led by the Indiana China Council. Sampson is chair of the Indiana China Council. The trip, which is scheduled for September 9 -18, will strengthen economic and cultural relationships with businesses and communities in China.

The council organized the trip as an Indiana trade and sister cities mission to Indiana's sister province of Zhejiang, China. Sampson will visit Shanghai, Hangzhou and Taizhou. Taizhou is the sister city of Fort Wayne, and Decatur is in the process of establishing a sister city relationship with Jiaojiang, a district of Taizhou.

While meeting with community and business leaders in China, Sampson will represent the aggregate economic and community assets of Northeast Indiana.

“Our relationships in China are a cornerstone to developing economic and community investments in the future,” said John Sampson, president and CEO of the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership. “The standout Indiana business climate and our legacy of strong ties to the Zhejiang Province are clear advantages to our work in China.”

Sampson will travel with representatives from cities of Muncie and Greensburg as well as Delaware County.

The Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership was formed in 2006 to help build a globally competitive economy in Northeast Indiana. It is a public-private partnership creating business investment by generating business leads, developing product and fostering regional collaboration. In 2010, the Partnership launched Vision 2020 to bring the region together around five key areas for economic growth: 21st Century Talent, Competitive Business Climate, Entrepreneurship, Infrastructure and Quality of Life. The 10 counties of Northeast Indiana include Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells and Whitley. For more information, visit

Source: Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}