Indianapolis-based Herff Jones Inc. will continue its partnership with National Football Foundation. The company has extended a deal to provide rings for the organization's hall of fame inductees.

July 29, 2013

News Release

Irving, Texas — The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today its continued partnership with Herff Jones, Inc., an Indianapolis-based manufacturer of fine graduation, motivational and recognition products, professional sports championship rings (NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL), and the 2012 college football national championship ring. Since 1998, Herff Jones has provided the Foundation with the commemorative rings that are presented to inductees of the College Football Hall of Fame.

“For 16 years, Herff Jones has provided us with symbols of excellence of the highest quality, and we are pleased to extend our relationship through 2016,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We believe that each Hall of Fame inductee deserves a truly special, unique piece to celebrate such an outstanding accomplishment. The detail and craftsmanship of the rings created by Herff Jones is truly exceptional, just like the men we are honoring.”

The 14 individuals to be honored as inductees into the 2013 Football Bowl Subdivision College Football Hall of Fame class will be presented with their rings at this year’s Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10 in New York City. The seven members of the Divisional College Football Hall of Fame class will receive their rings Aug. 28 during the enshrinement ceremonies, which will take place in the Omni Hotel at CNN Center, which is adjacent to the construction site of the new College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Ga.

“Herff Jones takes great pride in creating the College Football Hall of Fame rings,” said Tom Tanton, Chief Operating Officer of Herff Jones, Inc. “It is an honor to continue the tradition of supplying the NFF with these commemorative pieces that are bestowed on these accomplished former college athletes.”

Each College Football Hall of Fame 10K gold ring includes a royally set diamond embedded in a blue spinel stone. The ring features the Hall of Famer’s name, position and school, as well as the year of induction into the Hall of Fame.

Beginning this year, Herff Jones will also be responsible for developing the rings presented to inductees of the newly formed NFF Leadership Hall of Fame. Established in 2013, the National Football Foundation’s Leadership Hall of Fame recognizes elite individuals who have led their organizations to the highest levels of success and share the NFF’s mission of building leaders through football. George Pyne, IMG Worldwide’s President of Sports and Entertainment, and Jerry Jones, owner, president and general manager of the Dallas Cowboys, have been named charter inductees. They will be inducted Sept. 10 and Oct. 3, respectively.

Herff Jones has a distinguished history creating some of college football’s most recognizable awards. These include the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award, as well as the Harlon Hill Trophy, awarded each year to the Division II College Football Player of the Year. Herff Jones also creates the Wuerffel Trophy, named for 2013 College Football Hall of Fame inductee and 1996 NFF William V. Campbell Trophy recipient Danny Wuerffel (Florida).


Herff Jones works closely with customers to create a climate of achievement through motivation and recognition tools, rings and jewelry, graduation products, yearbooks, educational publishing, cheerleading, sporting goods and uniforms. The company provides guidance, support and quality products to elementary and middle schools, high schools, colleges and universities, church organizations, professional and collegiate sports teams, associations and corporations. Founded nearly 100 years ago, Herff Jones is an employee-owned organization focused on building long-term relationships through a nationwide network of trusted, expert sales representatives.

Herff Jones to provide College Football Hall of Fame and Leadership Hall of Fame inductees with recognition products through 2016.

About The National Football Foundation: Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the BCS, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Liberty Mutual Insurance, NCAA Football, and Under Armour. For more information, please visit

Source: National Football Foundation

Story Continues Below