The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation has announced this year's Indiana Authors Award winners. A 10-member panel selected the best from native or resident Hoosiers in national, regional and emerging author categories. October 28, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Three nationally recognized authors were celebrated at a special Indiana Authors Award celebration last Saturday: Michael Shelden, Norbert Krapf and Kelsey Timmerman were named National Author, Regional Author and Emerging Author recipients, respectively. Presented annually to recognize the contributions of Indiana authors to Indiana's and the nation's literary landscapes, the Indiana Authors Award is a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, funded by the generosity of The Glick Fund.

“Indiana has a rich tradition of cultivating talented authors, which is clearly demonstrated by this year's winners and finalists,” said Danny R. Dean, president of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation. “We're grateful for the continued generosity of The Glick Fund and the Glick family, as well the support of our sponsors and Award Panel.”

Each Indiana Authors Award winner receives a cash prize and also chooses an Indiana public library to receive a $2,500 grant from the Library Foundation. Since the Award's inception in 2009, selected authors have won a total of $135,000, and the authors' hometown libraries have received $47,500 in grants.

Indiana Authors Award nominations were submitted in early spring 2014. Any published writer born in Indiana or who has lived in Indiana for at least five years was eligible. A 10-member, statewide Award Panel selected national, regional and emerging author winners.

Michael Shelden: National Author Award Winner – $10,000 prize. A writer whose entire body of work is known and read throughout the country.

Norbert Krapf: Regional Author Award Winner – $7,500 prize. A writer who is well-known and respected throughout Indiana and is evaluated on his/her entire body of work.

Kelsey Timmerman: Emerging Author Award Winner – $5,000 prize. A writer who has published no more than two books during his/her lifetime. Title(s) must have been published within the last 10 years.

Nominations for the 2015 Indiana Authors Award open on Feb. 2, 2015. To learn more, contact the Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or visit

About The Glick Fund

The Glick Fund was established by Gene and Marilyn Glick to support a variety of causes in central Indiana. In addition to establishing the Indiana Authors Award with The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, Glick charitable funds have benefited Indiana educational institutions, arts organizations, hospitals and a leadership program for underprivileged youth.

About the Library Foundation

The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation supports and enhances programs, services and facilities of The Indianapolis Public Library, and its partnerships in lifelong learning initiatives that benefit a diverse community.

Source: Indianapolis Public Library Foundation

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}