The Indiana Department of Education has named dozens 21st Century Community Learning Centers funding recipients. The school corporations, nonprofits and community service centers will share more than $11 million to support initiatives involving students attending high-poverty, low-performing schools. March 24, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Fifty-three organizations serving 184 afterschool sites will receive 21st Century Community Learning Center grants designed to provide academic enrichment opportunities for students. Grant awards range from $50,000 to $300,000. The total award for this year is approximately $11.1 million.

“I look forward to working with these community organizations over the coming years as we continue to increase student performance throughout Indiana,” said Superintendent Ritz. “These groups work throughout the state to support student learning and development in communities affected by poverty. I am honored to award these organizations which are working every day to strengthen our communities.”

21st Century Community Learning Centers provide a range of high-quality services to support student learning and development, including academic enrichment, tutoring and mentoring, and homework help, as well as music, arts, sports and cultural activities. They also offer literacy and other educational services to the families of participating children.

The 21st Century Community Learning Centers program is an afterschool initiative authorized under Title IV, Part B, of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. The funded programs are intended specifically to assist students who attend high-poverty and low-performing schools.

A total of 78 school corporations, nonprofits and community organizations applied for grants. Projects can be funded for a period of three (3) to five (5) years. This year's awards will be funded for four (4) years and five (5) months based upon annual reviews and successful implementation. This year's grant recipients join 24 grant recipients already serving 69 sites across Indiana.

21st Century Community Learning Centers Grants 2014 Recipients:

A Better Way Services, Inc. $275,000

Archdiocese of Indianapolis $300,000

AYS, Inc. $175,000

Ball State University $200,000

Barbara B. Jordan YMCA $150,000

Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation $165,000

Beech Grove City Schools $175,000

Blue River Services, Inc. $250,000

Boys & Girls Club of Indianapolis $300,000

Boys & Girls Club of Morgan County $150,000

Boys & Girls Club of St. Joseph County $300,000

Boys & Girls Club of Wayne County $125,000

Boys & Girls of Huntington County, Inc. $200,000

Christel House Academy $200,000

Communities in Schools of Clark County, Inc. $250,000

Communities in Schools of East Chicago $150,000

Community Schools of Frankfort $175,000

Crawford County Community School Corporation $275,000

Crawfordsville Community Schools $250,000

East Allen Family Resource Center $175,000

Elkhart Community Schools $150,000

Emma Donnan Middle School $150,000

Emmerich Manual High School $150,000

Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation $275,000

Hoosier Uplands Economic Development Corporation $275,000

Indiana Alliance of Boys & Girls Clubs $300,000

John H. Boner Community Center $300,000

Lafayette School Corporation $150,000

Lake Ridge Schools $175,000

Martin University $175,000

Medora Community Schools $200,000

Michigan City Area Schools $300,000

Monroe County Community School Corporation $300,000

MSD of Decatur Township $150,000

MSD of Pike Township $275,000

MSD of Warren Township $275,000

New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation $250,000

New Prairie United School Corp $175,000

North Adams Community Schools $300,000

Paramount School of Excellence $175,000

Perry Central Community School Corporation $160,000

Ruth Lilly Health Education Center $150,000

Scott County School District 1 $275,000

Scott County School District 2 $175,000

South Bend Community School Corporation $50,000

Southwest Dubois County School Corporation $225,000

Steuben County Literacy Coalition $250,000

T.C. Howe Community High School $125,000

Tell City-Troy Township School Corporation $200,000

The Link/ Whitewater College Programs, Inc. $175,000

The Starke County Youth Club, Inc. $175,000

Vigo County School Corporation $150,000

YMCA of Southwestern Indiana $280,000


Source: The Indiana Department of Education

Story Continues Below