Twelve Indiana communities are receiving a total of more than $5 million in grants for water and wastewater projects. The federal Community Development Block Grant funding is being awarded through Indiana's Office of Community and Rural Affairs.

August 19, 2014

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. — Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann today announced that twelve Indiana communities are receiving grants totaling over $5.4 million for projects through the Wastewater and Drinking Water Program managed by the Office of Community and Rural Affairs. Funded by the federal Community Development Block Grant, this program is available to communities for a variety of infrastructure improvements to enable long-term growth. Each grant must have a match of local funds and meet certain grant requirements.

In announcing the grants, Lt. Governor Ellspermann noted, “Indiana's rural and smaller cities and towns are important to the overall economic and social fabric of our state. Through this specific program and others, we want to help these communities remain attractive places to live, raise families and operate businesses.”

The recent grants include:

(Applicant, County, Project Description, Grant Request, Total Local Match, Total Project Cost)

Cannelton, City of, Perry, Wastewater, $432,000 $108,000 $540,000

Cayuga, Town of, Vermillion, Wastewater $400,000 $125,000 $525,000

Jennings County, Jennings, Wastewater, $550,000 $2,690,000 $3,240,000

Worthington, Town of, Greene , Water, $400,000 $769,443 $1,169,443

Pine Village, Town of, Warren, Wastewater, $600,000, $2,627,000 $3,227,000

Medaryville, Town of, Pulaski, Wastewater, $450,000 $400,000 $850,000

Kempton, Town of, Tipton, Wastewater, $500,000 $2,855,502 $3,355,502

Colfax, Town of, Clinton, Water, $350,000 $545,500 $895,500

North Liberty, Town of, St Joseph, Wastewater, $500,000 $2,307,800 $2,807,800

Atlanta, Town of, Hamilton, Wastewater, $394,838 $120,410 $515,248

Walkerton, Town of, St Joseph, Water, $500,000 $600,500 $1,100,500

Greene County, Greene, Water, $400,000 $100,000 $500,000

Source: Office of Lieutenant Governor Sue Ellspermann

Story Continues Below