GiaQuinta Names House Democratic Leadership

Posted: Updated:
Phil GiaQuinta was named House Minority Leader in November. Phil GiaQuinta was named House Minority Leader in November.

Indiana House Minority Leader Phil GiaQuinta (D-80) has announced the leadership team and ranking committee members for the House Democratic Caucus. The leadership team will assist in various aspects of the legislative process, both within the caucus and on the House floor.

The announcement follows House Speaker Brian Bosma's (R-88) leadership and committee member appointments last week for the Republican side. Bosma and GiaQuinta themselves were appointed the leaders of their respective caucuses last month.

The democratic appointments include:

Leadership Team

  • Democratic Leader: State Rep. Phil GiaQuinta (D-Fort Wayne)
  • Assistant Democratic Leader: State Rep. Karlee Macer (D-Indianapolis)
  • Democratic Floor Leader: State Rep. Cherrish Pryor (D-Indianapolis)
  • Assistant Democratic Floor Leader: State Rep. Terri J. Austin (D-Anderson)
  • Democratic Caucus Chair: State Rep. Mara Candelaria Reardon (D-Munster)
  • Assistant Democratic Caucus Chair: State Rep. Dan Forestal (D-Indianapolis)
  • Democratic Whip: State Rep. Justin Moed (D-Indianapolis)
  • Assistant Democratic Whip: State Rep. Carey Hamilton (D-Indianapolis)
  • Assistant Democratic Whip: State Rep. Earl Harris, Jr. (D-East Chicago)

Ranking Committee Members

  • Agriculture and Rural Development: State Rep. Melanie Wright (D-Yorktown)
  • Commerce, Small Business, and Economic Development: State Rep. Rita Fleming (D-Jeffersonville)
  • Courts and Criminal Code: State Rep. Ragen H. Hatcher (D-Gary)
  • Education: State Rep. Vernon G. Smith (D-Gary)
  • Elections and Apportionment: State Rep. Chuck Moseley (D-Portage)
  • Employment, Labor, and Pensions: State Rep. Lisa Beck (D-Hebron)
  • Environmental Affairs: State Rep. Sue Errington (D-Muncie)
  • Family, Children, and Human Affairs: State Rep. Vanessa Summers (D-Indianapolis)
  • Financial Institutions: State Rep. Carey Hamilton (D-Indianapolis)
  • Government and Regulatory Reform: State Rep. Chris Campbell (D-West Lafayette)
  • Insurance: State Rep. Terri J. Austin (D-Anderson)
  • Judiciary: State Rep. B. Patrick Bauer (D-South Bend)
  • Local Government: State Rep. Chris Chyung (D-Dyer)
  • Natural Resources: State Rep. Tonya Pfaff (D-Terre Haute)
  • Public Health: State Rep. Robin Shackleford (D-Indianapolis)
  • Public Policy: State Rep. Justin Moed (D-Indianapolis)
  • Roads and Transportation: State Rep. Dan Forestal (D-Indianapolis)
  • Rules and Legislative Procedures: State Rep. Ryan Dvorak (D-South Bend)
  • Select Committee on Government Reduction: State Rep. Carolyn Jackson (D-Hammond)
  • Utilities, Energy, and Telecommunications: State Rep. Matt Pierce (D-Bloomington)
  • Veterans Affairs and Public Safety: State Rep. Karlee Macer (D-Indianapolis)
  • Ways and Means: State Rep. Gregory W. Porter (D-Indianapolis)
  • Statutory Committee on Ethics: State Rep. Sue Errington (D-Muncie), Vice Chair
  • Interstate and International Cooperation: State Rep. Mara Candelaria Reardon (D-Munster)
  • Committee on Joint Rules: State Rep. Phil GiaQuinta (D-Fort Wayne)

The 2019 Indiana General Assembly will convene in January.

  • Perspectives

    • Outsourcing the Biggest Part of Your Business

      What if you're forced to close your business’ doors without having the slightest idea it was coming? Best case scenario, you’re able to get an attorney who can help you save it, but nine times out of ten, the damage is irreversible. The dangers of non-compliance are real. They're costly, and they’re jeopardizing many businesses. As 2019 nears, it’s time to evaluate the human resources (HR) issues that may be dissolving your business or your bottom line.



Company Name:
Confirm Email:
INside Edge
Morning Briefing
BigWigs & New Gigs
Life Sciences Indiana
Indiana Connections


  • Most Popular Stories

    • Hulman & Co. Makes Changes at INDYCAR and IMS

      Indianapolis-based Hulman & Co. has announced organizational changes within its subsidiaries INDYCAR and Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The company has promoted Jay Frye to president of INDYCAR, beginning at the start of the new year.

    • Orbis Education to be Acquired

      A Carmel-based education services company will soon be under new ownership. Phoenix-based Grand Canyon Education Inc. (Nasdaq: LOPE) has announced plans to acquire Orbis Education Services LLC in a more than $362 million cash deal. Orbis supports healthcare education programs for 17 regionally accredited universities throughout the country. Grand Canyon Education says the acquisition will align the expertise of both companies to better address the nationwide shortage of...

    • Basketball Hall of Fame Names Silver Anniversary Team

      The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame has unveiled its All Women's 2019 Silver Anniversary Team, recognizing outstanding accomplishments as a senior player 25 years ago. The team will be honored in April at the 18th Annual Women's Awards Banquet in Indianapolis. The ceremony is set for Saturday, April 27 at the Primo Banquet Hall on the south side of Indianapolis. The team members are...

    • Tinker Coffee Co. Plans to Open Café in New Location

      Tinker Coffee Co. has opened a new location in the Riverside District in Indianapolis. The company will continue to roast and sell coffee beans, and plans to open a café at the new location late summer 2019. As business picked up for Tinker Roasting Co., it says a larger space was needed to meet online and wholesale orders.

    • Crouch Announces New Tourism Director

      Lieutenant Governor Suzanne Crouch has selected Misty Weisensteiner as director of the Indiana Office of Tourism Development. Weisensteiner, who most recently served as executive director of the Orange County Economic Development Partnership, will begin her new role January 14. Weisensteiner succeeds Mark Newman, who announced in August he was leaving to become executive director of Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations. During her tenure in Orange County...