Volunteer-Focused Award Goes to Marianne Glick

Posted: Updated:
(Image of Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett and Marianne Glick courtesy of the city of Indianapolis.) (Image of Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett and Marianne Glick courtesy of the city of Indianapolis.)

A well-known central Indiana entrepreneur and philanthropist is being honored by the Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee. Marianne Glick, who spent 25 years leading Glick Training Associates, an Indianapolis-based company she founded in 1986, is the winner of the 2018 Charles L. Whistler Award. The honor is the organization's most prestigious award for a community volunteer.

Glick is the current chair of the Glick Family Foundation board and president of the board of Indianapolis-based TeenWorks. She is also owner of GlickArt and is an accomplished artist. Glick is the founder of the Executive Women’s Leadership Program.

Columbus-based Cummins Foundation Chief Executive Officer Mary Titsworth Chandler, who is board chair of GIPC, says "through her unique combination of board leadership, philanthropy, and volunteerism, Marianne Glick has embodied the spirit of public-private collaboration the Whistler Award celebrates. Ms. Glick has consistently worked to make Indianapolis more inclusive and equitable. Her contributions have benefited the neighborhoods, people, and culture of our city, and her impact on Indianapolis is unmatched."

Glick's current board involvement also includes the Gene B. Glick Co., United Way of Central Indiana, Ivy Tech Community College, IUPUI Chancellor's Advisory Council, Goodwill, Ascend Indiana and Community Health Foundation. She previously served as a trustee for organizations, including Ball State University and the Central Indiana Community Foundation.

Previous winners of the Whistler Award include:

  • 1983: Thomas H. Lake
  • 1984: Thomas W. Binford & David R. Frick
  • 1985: Frank P. Lloyd
  • 1986: Phillip R. Duke & Thomas W. Moses
  • 1987: Mattie M. Coney
  • 1988: Donald W. Tanselle
  • 1989: Ramon L. Humke & Henry C. Ryder
  • 1990: Richard O. Morris
  • 1991: Eldon Campbell
  • 1992: Michael A. Carroll
  • 1993: William W. Mays & James T. Morris
  • 1994: Fred C. Tucker, Jr.
  • 1995: Robert H. Reynolds
  • 1996: Thomas M. Miller & Sam H. Jones
  • 1997: Dr. Gene Sease
  • 1998: Jack Shaw & Dan & Lori Efroymson
  • 1999: Andrew Paine & Yvonne Shaheen
  • 2000: Rev. T. Garrott Benjamin & Michael Maurer
  • 2001: Jerry Semler & Fay Williams
  • 2003: Alex Carroll & Rev. Charles Williams
  • 2004: Dr. Beurt Servaas & Gerald Bepko
  • 2005: Joseph D. Barnette, Jr. & G. Frederick Glass
  • 2007: P.E. MacAllister & Marge Tarplee
  • 2008: Patrick J. Early
  • 2009: John T. Neighbours & Sallie W. Rowland
  • 2010: Michael G. Browning
  • 2011: Samuel L. Odle
  • 2012: David Shane
  • 2013: John M. Mutz
  • 2014: Martha Lamkin
  • 2015: Thomas A. King
  • 2016: Sarah & John Lechleiter
  • 2017: Andre B. Lacy
  • Perspectives

    • Take Time to Face Reality

      When is the last time that you as a business owner truly stopped for 30 minutes or an hour and truly took some quiet time to reflect on your business? Like most owners, it’s probably been quite some time. We all get busy doing things, working hard, taking care of customers, running the business. But if we don’t take some time each day, week, month or quarter to slow down, we are setting ourselves up for failure. Business leaders and owners need the time to slow down to...



Company Name:
Confirm Email:
INside Edge
Morning Briefing
BigWigs & New Gigs
Life Sciences Indiana
Indiana Connections


  • Most Popular Stories

    • (Image provided by the Capital Improvement Board.)

      Indy Alters Plans for Downtown Hotels

      The city of Indianapolis has announced plans to change the framework for a major project in downtown Indy that has sparked controversy. The $120 million project, announced in October 2018, calls for an expansion of the Indiana Convention Center and two new hotels at Pan Am Plaza, which would add about 1,400 rooms. The project has drawn criticism from a group of hoteliers, who have expressed concern of a potential oversaturation in downtown Indy. Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett issued...

    • How Elkhart Became The RV Capital of The World

      Today we all know Elkhart, Indiana as the RV Capital of the World. More than 80 percent of global RV production is based throughout the region. That means that if you see an RV rolling down the road anywhere in the world, chances are that it was built with the craftsmanship and dedication of Hoosiers.

    • Shelly Timmons

      IU Health Names New Leader of Neurosurgery

      The Indiana University School of Medicine and IU Health Physicians have named Shelly Timmons to lead the department of neurosurgery. She previously served at Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center as vice chair for administration in the department of neurosurgery and director of neurotrauma.  

    • Elanco is headquartered in Greenfield.

      Elanco Finishes Deal on Pet Therapeutics Purchase

      Greenfield-based Elanco Animal Health Inc.(NYSE: ELAN) completed its purchase Thursday of Aratana Therapeutics (Nasdaq: PETX), a pet therapeutics company located near Kansas City. As Inside INdiana Business first reported Tuesday Aratana shareholders voted overwhelmingly in favor of the $245 million deal. 

    • On-Air

      Find out when and where you can watch and listen to our reports.