Indiana Emergency Response Names Award Winners

Posted: Updated:
Mike Connelly Mike Connelly

The Indiana Emergency Response Conference has presented its annual awards, honoring the best and brightest among Indiana first responders and public safety officials. Award recipients may be nominated by other emergency responders, as well as individuals they may have assisted.

The IERC serves as the annual gathering for firefighters, emergency medical services, law enforcement, emergency management agencies, hazardous materials professionals, special operations personnel and telecommunicators. It includes educational sessions, innovative presentations and discussions about some of the most pressing issues facing the emergency response community in Indiana.

The IERC was planned by the Indiana Fire Chiefs Association, the Indiana Department of Homeland Security and Public Safety Medical. 

Here are the award recipients: 

Fire Instructor of the Year (Individual) 
Ross Elmore, Petersburg Fire Department

Dispatcher of the Year 
Shift Days A, Hamilton County Public Safety Communications

Heroic Rescue of the Year
Mark Regina, Mishawaka Fire Department 

EMS Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year (Fire Department-based) 
Fishers Fire Department

EMS Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year (Non-Fire Department-based) 
AMR Evansville

Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year 
Craig Zollars, White River Township Fire Department (Greenwood) 

David J. Edwards Memorial Award, Primary (EMS) Instructor of the Year 
Kelly Russ, Indianapolis EMS

EMS for Children Award 
Chris Thomas, Trans-Care Ambulance Service (Terre Haute) 

EMT-Basic of the Year 
Samantha Slinger, Harrison County Hospital EMS

Paramedic of the Year 
Darren Forman, Crawfordsville Fire Department 

EMS Basic Life Support Provider of the Year (Fire Department-based) 
Evansville Fire Department

EMS Basic Life Support Provider of the Year (Non-Fire Department-based) 
Knox County EMS 

Ambulance Provider Public Relations Award
inHealth (Valparaiso)

EMS Officer of the Year 
Gary Kleeman, Harrison County Hospital EMS 

Medical Director of the Year 
Scott Sinnott, Project Swaddle Medical Director, Franciscan Alliance (Lafayette)

Firefighter of the Year 
Thomas Marvel, Carmel Fire Department

Fire Officer of the Year 
Tim Tully, Crown Point Fire Rescue

Fire Chief of the Year (Volunteer) 
Randy Sizelove, Summitville Fire Department

Fire Chief of the Year (Career) 
Mike Connelly (pictured), Evansville Fire Department

You can learn more about each award recipient by clicking here.

  • Perspectives

    • Why Blogging Without Rules Produces the Best Content

      I spend a lot of time talking with people about what makes writing good. Depending on who you ask, good writing might be exciting and illustrative. It might be simple and efficient. If you ask someone who works in marketing, good writing translates to whatever helps a marketing strategy generate more leads, or more sales, or more of whatever a business is looking to gain. Though I fully respect and agree with this results-oriented perspective on content, in practice it can be...



Company Name:
Confirm Email:
INside Edge
Morning Briefing
BigWigs & New Gigs
Life Sciences Indiana
Indiana Connections


  • Most Popular Stories

    • The Honda Greensburg plant opened in 2008.

      Honda to Invest $4M, Add Jobs at Greensburg Plant

      The American Honda Motor Co. continues to invest in its Greensburg, Indiana plant as it has announced the factory will be producing the company’s first electrified sport utility vehicle in the U.S. The company says it will invest more than $4 million and add 34 new jobs in the plant to support production of the CR-V Hybrid.  

    • (photo courtesy of The Times of Northwest Indiana)

      Valpo Mansion May Fall to Wrecking Ball

      A one-time mansion that once hosted dignitaries and politicians while they visited Valparaiso appears to be facing demolition, following years of decline and disrepair.  The stately mansion, known locally as the Brown home, maybe knocked down and replaced with condominiums, according to our partners at The Times of Northwest Indiana. 

    • Socio received the Top-Rated Overall Culture award. (Provided Photo/Socio)

      Inaugural Tech Culture Award Winners Unveiled

      Indianapolis-based Powderkeg has unveiled the winners of the inaugural Indiana Breakout Tech Culture Awards. Eleven Hoosier tech companies received the honors based on survey rankings from the 2019 Tech Census, which focused specifically on tech cultures. Nearly 270 tech companies were nominated and the winners were selected from a group of 50 finalists. More than 1,300 individuals responded to the survey, which allowed employees to rate their companies and employers on...

    • Photo courtesy of Purdue University

      Purdue Offers 'Stranger Things' Replica Tee

      Purdue University has partnered with trademark licensing agent CLC to produce a special-edition replica Purdue shirt that appeared on an episode of Netflix’s “Stranger Things 3.”  The university also teamed up with Venley to accurately replicate the shirt, which will be available at retailers on the West Lafayette campus and online later this month.

    • Alexa Deaton and Colby Shank

      Higher Ed Commission Promotes Two

      The Indiana Commission for Higher Education has promoted Alexa Deaton to associate commissioner and Chief Financial Officer. She previously served as director of accounting. Also, Colby Shank has been promoted to associate commissioner for student financial aid, a new position for the organization. He most recently served as assistant commissioner for financial and student support services.