Hospital Association Selects Board, Award Winners

Posted: Updated:

The Indiana Hospital Association has named dozens of executives from throughout the state to its 2015 board of directors. The organization also announced winners of its annual Distinguished Service Award and Award of Merit. November 6, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The Indiana Hospital Association presented its two highest awards last week at the 2014 IHA Annual Membership Meeting, Oct. 28 - 30. Mark Moore, president and CEO of Indiana University Health Bloomington Hospital, received the IHA Distinguished Service Award for outstanding achievement and dedication to his organization, its patients, the community and the profession. The Distinguished Service Award is IHA's highest honor for a hospital chief executive officer.

"Mark represents the kind of leader that will carry the mission of his organization into the future, and it's an honor to grow in the industry with him and give him the respect he's earned," said Doug Leonard, IHA president.

Denise Dillard, chief consultant of government and external affairs at Methodist Hospitals in Gary and Merrillville, received the IHA Award of Merit for her exemplary service to health care. This award is given to an individual, other than a hospital CEO, who has made noteworthy contributions to the health care field and has demonstrated a devotion to the interests and goals of hospitals and the humanitarian services they provide.

"Denise brings a unique perspective as she represents advocacy to hospitals, and it is critical to have people like Denise to never overlook our mission," said Leonard.

In addition, IHA presented its Stella Scholarship Award to Jennifer Ditsch, a student in the Indiana University MHA program. The Ken and Cindy Stella Scholarship Fund in Health Administration honors the Stellas for their contributions to the work of Indiana hospitals and offers financial support to students in the graduate program in health administration at Indiana University. To date, the scholarship has raised $391,000 and since 2007, the scholarship has awarded $150,000.

"Thanks to the many contributions, students now have a chance to further their education and become a profound leader in health care," said Ken Stella, IHA president emeritus.

The Indiana Hospital Association also appointed the 2015 IHA Board of Directors, including Chairman Martin Padgett, president and CEO of Clark Memorial Hospital in Jeffersonville, Chairman-elect Bryan Mills, president and CEO of Community Health Network in Indianapolis and Secretary-Treasurer Robert Brody, regional CEO, Central Indiana Region of Franciscan Alliance, Indianapolis.

"Thank you to our IHA Board of Directors, who give us guidance, and the IHA Executive Committee for their diligent work and commitment," said Leonard. "For all that we have achieved together, I am personally thankful to be supported by the collaborative sense of spirit that Indiana hospitals have, and I look forward to what's in store for 2015 as we continue down this path together - to improve the overall health and well-being of our state."

2015 IHA Board of Directors:

-Martin Padgett, FACHE, President/CEO, Clark Memorial Hospital, Jeffersonville, Chairman

-Bryan A. Mills, President/CEO, Community Health Network, Indianapolis, Chairman-elect

-Robert J. Brody, Regional CEO, Central Indiana Region of Franciscan Alliance, Indianapolis, Secretary-Treasurer

-Michael J. Packnett, President/CEO, Parkview Health, Fort Wayne, Past Chairman (2014)

-Douglas J. Leonard, IHA President, Indianapolis

-David Ameen, FACHE, President/CEO, Logansport Memorial Hospital

-Matthew Bailey, FACHE, CEO, Indiana University Health West Hospital, Avon

-Brian Bauer, CEO, Lutheran Health Network, Fort Wayne

-Vincent C. Caponi, FACHE, Executive Chair/Board, St.Vincent Health, Indianapolis

-Blake A. Dye, FACHE, President/CEO, St.Vincent Heart Center of Indiana, Indianapolis

-Bradford W. Dykes, FACHE, President/CEO, Indiana University Health Bedford Hospital

-Sue Ehinger, Ph.D., Chief Experience Officer, Parkview Health, Fort Wayne

-Daniel F. Evans, Jr., President/CEO, Indiana University Health, Indianapolis

-Jason Fahrlander, FACHE, President, North Region of Community Health Network, Indianapolis

-Donald P. Fesko, FACHE, CEO, Community Hospital, Munster

-Al Gatmaitan, CEO, Indiana University Health Arnett Hospital, Lafayette

-Kreg Gruber, Interim President, Beacon Medical Group, South Bend

-Al Gutierrez, FACHE, President/CEO, Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center, Mishawaka

-John (Jack) M. Horner, President/CEO, Major Hospital, Shelbyville

-Paul Janssen, FACHE, President/CEO, Henry County Hospital, New Castle

-Nancy Kennedy, MD, Physician Quality Advisor, Dearborn County Hospital, Lawrenceburg

-Craig C. Kinyon, President/CEO, Reid Hospital & Health Care Services, Richmond

-Robert D. McLin, FACHE, President/CEO, Good Samaritan Hospital, Vincennes

-Thomas D. Miller, FACHE, President/Division 5, Community Health Systems, Fort Wayne/Franklin, TN

-Jonathan Nalli, President/CEO, St.Vincent Health, Indianapolis

-Mamon Powers, Jr., Board Chairman, Methodist Hospitals, Gary and Merrillville

-Timothy L. Putnam, FACHE, President/CEO, Margaret Mary Health, Batesville

-David Ruskowski, President, Franciscan St. Anthony Health, Crown Point

-Jean Scallon, CEO/Managing Director, Bloomington Meadows Hospital

-Mark Shugarman, FACHE, President/CEO, Floyd Memorial Hospital & Health Services, New Albany

-Linda Simmons, FACHE, President/CEO, Decatur County Memorial Hospital, Greensburg

-Raymond W. Snowden, President/CEO, Memorial Hospital and Health Care Center, Jasper

-Thor Thordarson, President/CEO, Indiana University Health La Porte Hospital

-Dennis Weatherford, President/CEO, Putnam County Hospital, Greencastle

-Linda E. White, FACHE, President/CEO, Deaconess Health System, Evansville

Indiana Hospital Association is a non-profit organization that serves as the professional trade association for 164 Hoosier hospitals. These members are either independent or a member of one of the 23 systems in the state. Membership includes hospitals, multi-hospital systems and community mental health centers. The mission of the IHA is to provide leadership, representation and services in the common best interests of its members as they promote the improvement of community health status. IHA’s primary responsibility is to represent the interests of hospitals in matters of public policy. IHA also provides members with education, communications and data collection services.

Source: The Indiana Hospital Association