IU Soccer Team to Visit White House

Posted: Updated:

Indiana University's men's soccer team will be honored for its 2012 national championship this afternoon at the White House. The Hoosiers will be one of nearly 20 teams to be recognized at today's ceremony.

March 8, 2014

News Release

Bloomington, Ind. -- The Indiana University men's soccer team will be honored for its 2012 NCAA Championship in a ceremony at the White House on Monday, March 10, in Washington, D.C.

Joining the players and coaching staff will be Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie and Vice President and Director of Athletics Fred Glass.

President Barack Obama will welcome 19 NCAA Division I teams that won titles in 2012-13 for an event on the South Lawn.

"It is a huge honor to be able to return to the White House, representing Indiana University and the Athletics Department," said head coach Todd Yeagley. "This is a prestigious event and we are proud to be part of it."

"We could not be more proud of the players, staff and Coach Yeagley, who propelled our storied men's soccer program to the 2012 NCAA Championship," Glass said. "We are thrilled for all associated with the program that they will be honored in this way, and extraordinarily grateful to the President for this gracious invitation. It is certain to be the experience of a lifetime for our student-athletes."

The Hoosiers brought home the program's eighth National Championship in December 2012 with a 1-0 win over Georgetown in the College Cup championship game. Nikita Kotlov scored the game-winning goal in that match, with Patrick Doody and Eriq Zavaleta assisting on the play.

Goalkeeper Luis Soffner was named Most Outstanding Defensive Player in the tournament after a pair of shutouts vs. Creighton (1-0) and the Hoyas. Soffner allowed just one goal during the Hoosiers' five-game tournament run, with a 4-0 victory over Xavier, 2-1 double overtime win at No. 1 seed Notre Dame, and a 1-0 win at North Carolina in the quarterfinals.

Offensively that season the Hoosiers were led by Zavaleta's 18 goals. Seven of his scores were game winners, including the deciding goals in the wins at Notre Dame and North Carolina in the NCAA Tournament.

March 10, 2014

News Release

Washington D.C. -- On Monday, March 10, the President will host the 2012-2013 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Champions at the White House for an event on the South Lawn. The President will welcome student athletes from schools across the country to congratulate them on their accomplishments in the classroom and on the playing field.

The event will be open press and streamed live on www.whitehouse.gov/live.

The following teams are expected to attend this event:

Duke University: Men's Lacrosse

Indiana University: Men's Soccer

Oklahoma State University: Men's Cross Country

Princeton University: Fencing

Princeton University: Field Hockey

Stanford University: Women's Tennis

University of Alabama: Men's Golf

University of California, Irvine: Men's Volleyball

University of Colorado, Boulder: Men's Cross Country

University of Kansas: Women's Outdoor Track and Field

University of Minnesota: Women's Hockey

University of North Carolina: Women's Lacrosse

University of North Carolina: Women's Soccer

University of Oklahoma: Softball

University of Southern California: Men's Water Polo

University of Southern California: Women's Water Polo

University of Virginia: Men's Tennis

West Virginia University: Rifle

Yale University: Men's Hockey

WHAT: The President will host the 2012-2013 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Champions at the White House.

WHEN: Monday, March 10, 2014 in the afternoon.

WHERE: South Lawn of the White House.