Ivy Tech Names Campus Presidents

Posted: Updated:

Ivy Tech Community College has named campus presidents at 11 locations. The announcement follows the school's restructuring, which includes consolidation of administrative and regional operations. March 7, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS – Ivy Tech Community College has named 11 of its Campus Presidents positions. These announcements come on the heels of the College’s recent restructuring of its statewide system resulting in the consolidation of administrative functions and regional operations. All 11 of the Campus Presidents hold current positions with the College, most serving as Vice Chancellors/Deans.

The Campus Presidents will report to the chancellors within the sites they serve. The focus of the local Campus President will be outreach to the local community. In addition, Campus Presidents will manage the day-to-day operations while fostering a campus climate that is consistent with the College’s core values. The Campus President consults with regional administrators to achieve policy objectives and goals for building new and varied community outreach and partnerships, as well as expanding the availability of the College’s instructional and student support services to the community.

The Campus Presidents will also direct the assessment, development and delivery of degree programs, certifications, and training consistent with the needs of the community; recommend and/or employ the instructional and support staff necessary for efficient operations; develop, update, and communicate short and long term goals for the campus; and provide direction for campus managers and directors.

The Campus Presidents are as follows:

Kevin Bostic – Logansport Campus

Kevin Bostic has worked in higher education for more than 20 years, the last 15 at Ivy Tech Community College. Before taking the position as Vice Chancellor/Dean at the Logansport Campus in 2009, he worked for several years in the Student Affairs Office and served three years as the Executive Director of Finance for the Kokomo Region. Kevin also served as the Registrar in Ivy Tech’s East Central Region. He is a member of the Ivy Tech Executive Leadership Cohort and serves on a variety of college and civic committees. Kevin earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Manchester University and a master’s degree in student personnel administration from Ball State University. He is a board member of the Logansport / Cass County Chamber of Commerce and the Cass County United Way and previously served on the Logansport Economic Development Board of Directors.

Janet Evelyn-Dorsey – South Bend Campus

Dr. Evelyn has more than 25 years of experience in higher education and business. She currently serves as the Dean of the School of Business for the East Central Region of Ivy Tech and will assume her new position as South Bend Campus President on March 17. In addition, she held positions within the SUNY Community College System and the Small Business Development Center at SUNY Institute of Technology, Utica, NY, as well as the Mayor’s Office of Business Development, New York, NY. Dr. Evelyn earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Management/Economics from Herbert H. Lehman College, CUNY, Bronx, New York; M.B.A. from Long Island University, Brooklyn, New York; and Ph.D. in Leadership for Higher Education from Capella University, Minneapolis, Minnesota. Dr. Evelyn was born and raised on the island of Nevis in the Caribbean and after a full career in banking, came to the United States as an international student.

Julie Foster – Elkhart Campus

Julie Foster began her career at Ivy Tech in February 2014. Prior to her employment at Ivy Tech, Foster was the Director for International and Graduate Programs at Valparaiso University Law School. Foster has over 20 years of experience as a university administrator at a variety of institutions, and as a practicing attorney in labor and employment law. Foster received her JD from the University of Notre Dame Law School, her Master of Science degree from Miami University, and her Bachelor of Arts from Olivet College.

R. Louie Gonzalez – East Chicago Campus

Gonzalez has worked at Ivy Tech for 26 years, with previous employment at Calumet College of St. Joseph and Indiana University Northwest. As Vice Chancellor/Dean of Ivy Tech’s East Chicago De La Garza campus, Gonzalez led the campus through a period of tremendous growth in enrollment, community outreach and fundraising. Since 2006, when Gonzalez took on the role of Vice Chancellor/Dean, enrollment has soared from 850 students to over 2,100 students, many who are first generation college students. In addition, Gonzalez serves as a member of the Board of Directors for the following organizations: Indiana Youth Institute, Hospice of Calumet Area, St. Catherine Hospital and Indiana Parenting Institute.

Tina Gross – Franklin Campus

Gross holds a Bachelor of Arts in Accounting from Franklin College and a Master of Business Administration in Organizational Leadership from Ashford University. Gross is also a graduate of Leadership Johnson County. She has been employed with Ivy Tech Community College since 1993, and has served as the Executive Director at the Franklin campus since 2011. Prior positions include Executive Director of Finance at Ivy Tech-Columbus, Executive Director of Financial Services for the Ivy Tech Foundation, Executive Director of Finance at Ivy Tech’s Indianapolis campus, and Senior Auditor for Ivy Tech’s Central Office. Gross serves as the Co-Chair for Talent Recruitment and Retention for Aspire Johnson County, serves on the Board of Directors for Franklin Study Connection, serves on the nominating committee for Leadership Johnson County, and is a member of the Rotary Club in Franklin.

Seelpa Keshvala – Warsaw Campus

Keshvala’s 15+ year career in education includes teaching, research, administrative, and senior executive roles at various levels including K-12, community college, four-year public institutions, and state government. She has held appointments in Wisconsin, Iowa, and New Jersey. In her past role as Executive Director of the Educational Opportunity Fund (EOF) Program & Recruitment at Burlington County College in Pemberton, New Jersey, Keshvala increased enrollment in the EOF Program by 45 percent. She also led a departmental redesign, which resulted in a 39 percent reduction in labor costs and a 12 percent reduction in fixed costs while still increasing operational productivity and efficiency by nearly 60 percent. Keshvala earned a Ph.D. in Urban Education with a specialization in Educational Administration, a M.S. in Curriculum and Instruction, and a B.S. in Elementary Education with a minor in English all from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She lives in Warsaw, Indiana, with her husband, Mark, and son, Eshaan.

Dr. John Lightle – Marion Campus

Lightle has served as Vice Chancellor/Dean of the Marion Campus for eleven years. Prior to joining Ivy Tech, he served 35 years as a teacher and administrator with Marion Community School. His current service on community boards includes: Grant County CVB, Via Credit Union, Project Leadership, Affordable Housing Corporation, Community Corrections, Grant County Economic Growth Council, and Minnetrista Cultural Center. Lightle continues to provide leadership to state, national, and international professional associations to move the education profession forward.

Marlon Mitchell – Gary Campus

Mitchell is a native of Northwest Indiana and graduate of Gary Roosevelt High School. He attended Indiana University earning a doctorate in Instructional Systems Technology. He has held professorships and administrative posts at several colleges and universities before coming back home to Gary. Since his return he has worked at the Gary Community School Corporation and is the former Regional Dean of Indiana Wesleyan University. H