Soccer Stadium Measure on Hold

Posted: Updated:

Indy Eleven Professional Soccer owner Ersal Ozdemir says he will continue to push next session for a proposal to leverage taxpayer money to pay for an $87 million stadium. Senate President Pro Tem David Long (R-16) said today the measure would likely wait until next year.

March 6, 2014

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. -- The following is a statement from Indy Eleven Owner Ersal Ozdemir:

"We appreciate all the support and the warm reception we received in our effort to engage legislators about Indy Eleven and the state's passionate soccer community at the statehouse during this short session. Having not been given a red card, we remain committed to working with legislators with an eye toward coming back next session and continuing the discussion about Indy Eleven's successful launch and its economic impact on our community and state. In the meantime, we are excited about Indy Eleven playing its first game in front of a sold out crowd on April 12th!"

About Indy Eleven Professional Soccer

Indy Eleven will kick off its inaugural season in the North American Soccer League (NASL) on April 12, 2014, against the Carolina RailHawks and will play its home contests at Michael A. Carroll Stadium on the campus of IUPUI in downtown Indianapolis. Born Indy Pro Soccer after launching as the 11th member of the North American Soccer League on January 16, 2013, Indy Eleven established its identity 99 days later on the 152nd anniversary of the establishment of the 11th Indiana Regiment during the Civil War on April 25, 1861.

The NASL is the officially-sanctioned Second Division of professional soccer in the United States and Canada. In 2014, expansion newcomers Indy Eleven and Ottawa Fury FC will join Atlanta Silverbacks, Carolina RailHawks, FC Edmonton, Fort Lauderdale Strikers, reigning Soccer Bowl champion New York Cosmos, Minnesota United FC, San Antonio Scorpions FC and Tampa Bay Rowdies, while Virginia Cavalry FC, Jacksonville Armada and a franchise in Oklahoma City will join in 2015.

Source: Indy Eleven Professional Soccer