updated: 2/8/2010 9:20:54 AM

Trine Names New Trustees

InsideINdianaBusiness.com Report

Three new members have been elected to the Trine University Board of Trustees. Auburn-based Metal Technologies Inc. Chief Executive Rick James, State Senator Dennis Kruse (R-14) and retired Hughes Electronics Corp. President Jack Shaw were recently named to the board.

Twitter Facebook LinkedIn

Source: Inside INdiana Business

Continued Below...


Press Release

ANGOLA, Ind.—The Trine University board of trustees has elected three new members. Rick L. James, chief executive for Metal Technologies Inc. in Auburn, Sen. Dennis Kruse, R-Auburn and Jack A. Shaw, retired president and chief executive for Hughes Electronics Corp. were named trustees following the board’s annual meeting in January.

A graduate of Tri-State, now Trine, Rick James earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration in 1977. Chairman and CEO for Metal Technologies for the past 13 years, he was president and chief executive for Auburn Foundry for nine years, and served the company in various other positions, including vice president for sales, sales manager and production manager, for 12 years prior to that time.

He is a member of the American Foundrymens’ Society, a past board member of the Foundry Education Foundation and the Indiana Cast Metals Association and past chair of the DeKalb County United Way annual food drive.

Sen. Kruse has served the Indiana State Senate since 2004 and the Indiana House of Representatives from 1989-2004. He chairs the standing committees for Education and Career Development and Pensions and Labor, and serves on the standing committees for Agriculture and Small Business and Utilities and Technology. He has been a member of the Governor’s Commission for a Drug-Free Indiana since 1992.

The owner and an auctioneer for Reppert School of Auctioneering and owner and president of Dennis Kruse & Associates Auctioneering and Real Estate, he is a past president of the state and national auctioneers association.

Jack Shaw was elected chief executive, president, and board member of Hughes Electronics Corp. in 2001. He joined Hughes in 1987, when the corporation acquired M/A-COM Telecommunications, for which he served as chair and chief executive. He retired in 2003 after holding executive positions throughout his career with Hughes. He has also served in senior management for ITT Space Communications Inc. and Digital Communications Corp.

He is a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and member of the Visiting Committee to the Dean of Engineering at Purdue University. He serves on the boards for XM Satellite Radio, Guidant Corp. and Global Communications Inc.

“We are proud to name individuals of such distinguished leadership and business reputation to the Trine University board of trustees,” said Trine President Earl D. Brooks II. “Their experience will provide valuable guidance as we move the university into the future.”

Trine University, an internationally recognized, private, independent, co-educational institution, offers associate, baccalaureate, and master degrees in programs to students in engineering, mathematics, science, computer science, business, teacher education, communication, criminal justice, golf management, social sciences, and various other fields of study. Trine is a member of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association and offers 21 varsity sports. Its golf program includes a university-owned 18-hole championship golf course. Founded in 1884 and accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, Trine operates a 400-acre main campus in Angola, Ind. with off-campus centers in Angola, Fort Wayne, Merrillville, and South Bend/Mishawaka, Ind.

Source: Trine University

  • Print
  • E-Mail
  • Newsletters