updated: 11/26/2012 12:52:31 PM

Former Politician to Receive 'Hoosier of The Year' Award

InsideINdianaBusiness.com Report

The Indiana Society of Chicago Foundation Inc. is set to honor Lee Hamilton and DePauw University. The organization will recognize the former Congressman as "Hoosier of the Year" and spotlight the university Saturday at its annual awards dinner.

Twitter Facebook LinkedIn

Continued Below...

  • Print
  • E-Mail
  • Newsletters

November 26, 2012

News Release

CHICAGO, Ill. - The Indiana Society of Chicago Foundation hosts the Society's 107th Annual Dinner. The Society, founded more than 100 years ago by Hoosier notables George Ade and John McCutcheon, and others attracted to the Midwest's premier city at the peak of the industrial revolution, pays homage to its roots each year by recognizing outstanding Indiana institutions and leaders in a high spirited holiday season celebration.

This year the Foundation will honor DePauw University, and Hon. Lee Hamilton as the "Hoosier of the Year." The December 1st event will also feature entertainment by "American English," the Beatles tribute band voted the "Best Tribute Band" as well as Illinois Entertainer of the Year. The Society's 107th Annual Dinner will take place in the Imperial Ballroom of the Fairmont Hotel at Chicago's Millennium Park.

DePauw University, which is in the midst of its 175th anniversary celebration, will be in the spotlight at the December 1st event. Hon. Lee Hamilton, a veteran statesman and 1952 graduate of DePauw, is now director of The Center on Congress at Indiana University. Lee Hamilton spent 34 years in the U.S. House of Representatives and has been an important voice on international relations and American national security for almost a half-century.

"DePauw and Chicago have a long and proud connection, with many alumni leaving our campus to contribute to the city's greatness and heritage," said President Brian W.Casey. "In 1837, DePauw was founded and Chicago was incorporated as a city, so it's fitting that we gather in this anniversary year and celebrate our great connections and the promise of the future."

Nationally recognized as one of America's top liberal arts colleges, DePauw was founded by the Methodist Church as Indiana Asbury. Known since 1884 as DePauw, the University is a private, selective, coeducational, residential, undergraduate College of Liberal Arts with a School of Music which is the sixth-oldest in the nation.

The University's 2,390 students come from 46 states and 36 foreign countries. A full-time faculty of 234 ensures class sizes which average fewer than 18 students, engendering a rigorous academic environment that encourages participation, expression and individual attention to students' needs.

For a small college, DePauw has produced a large list of well-known alumni. In addition to Lee Hamilton, they include bestselling authors Barbara Kingsolver and John Jakes; Dan Quayle, the 44th Vice President of the United States; civil rights leader and presidential adviser Vernon Jordan; pioneering chemist Percy Julian; "Angie's List" co-founder Angie Hicks and ESPN founders Bill and Scott Rasmussen; Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author James B. Stewart; and Butler University basketball coach Brad Stevens, to name but a few.

While members of the Indiana Society of Chicago Foundation span business, government, education and other professions, all share enduring ties to the Hoosier State-be it work, education and/or birthplace. An important additional mission of the Society is to provide scholarship assistance to greater Chicago area students attending colleges and universities in Indiana. This year the Foundation will award four scholarships to deserving DePauw students.

The evening will also feature Miss Indiana 2012, MerrieBeth Cox, and the presentation of the Colors by the Culver Cadets.

For dinner tickets and more information about the Society, please contact Madeleine Lebedow at Indianasocietv@aol.com or 847-673-2013.

The Indiana Society of Chicago Foundation, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.

Source: The Indiana Society of Chicago Foundation Inc.

  • Print
  • E-Mail
  • Newsletters