updated: 11/8/2012 12:50:14 PM

Indiana Architects Announce Design Awards

InsideINdianaBusiness.com Report

Nearly one dozen projects from throughout the state are winners of 2012 American Institute of Architects Indiana Design Awards. Top honors went to structures in Bloomington, Ellettsville, South Bend and Indianapolis.

Twitter Facebook LinkedIn

Continued Below...

  • Print
  • E-Mail
  • Newsletters

November 8, 2012

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The Indianapolis Museum of Art's Ruth Lilly Visitors Pavilion captured the top design award - a High Honor Award - Thursday at the annual American Institute of Architects (AIA) Indiana Design Awards. Designed by Marlon Blackwell, FAIA, the pavilion was among 11 projects to receive architecture awards.

Indianapolis' Schmidt Associates and Forum Architects of South Bend received Honor Awards. Schmidt Associates designed the renovation and addition to the Illinois Fall Creek Center at Ivy Tech Community College in Indianapolis. A panel of architects from Westchester and Hudson Valley, NY, liked the harmonious blend of the new addition with the existing design of the iconic campus.

Forum Architects, in partnership with RNL designed the Emil "Lucky" Reznik Administration, Maintenance and Operations Facility for South Bend's transportation system. It is the first multi-use transit facility in the country to be certified LEED Platinum, the highest level of achievement given by the US Green Building Council's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design program. Judges said, "The project raises the design standard."

The annual Indiana Design Awards was created to celebrate the best work of Indiana architects and recognize building owners who embrace the value of good design.

Other award winners:

-Fanning Howey received a Merit Award for its design of Colonel Smith Middle School in Fort Huachuca, Ariz. Not only did the design create flexible learning spaces and provide lots of natural light, architects used lively colors, textures and shapes.

-CSO Architects received a Merit Award for turning a vacant fitness center into a contemporary design for the firmís new headquarters at Keystone at the Crossing. Among the stand-out design features: a floating roof, the distinctive entrance and the mix of materials.

-Rowland Design received a Merit Award for the renovation of the Indiana University Theater, which has been converted into a state-of-the-art cinema facility, with classrooms and rehearsal and performance space for the Department of Theatre and Drama. Judges liked the creative repurposing of existing materials and the playful interior lighting.

-SchenkelShultz Architecture in Fort Wayne and Brenner Design in Indianapolis received a Merit Award for the interior design of the John & Ruth Rhinehart Music Center at the Indiana University-Purdue University at Fort Wayne Campus. The $23.7-million facility includes a 250-seat recital hall, classrooms, studios, an art gallery, 1,600-seat auditorium and administrative offices. Judges called the design, "elegant simplicity."

-SmithGroupJJR of Washington, D.C. received a Merit Award for its design of the Indiana University Cyber Infrastructure in Bloomington. The $37-million, 123,000-square-foot building is the social hub of IUís technology park.

-Odle McGuire Shook (OMS) received a Citation Award for its whimsical addition to the Ellettsville branch of the Monroe County Public Library. The architecture engages and creates active spaces, judges said.

-Axis Architecture + Interiors received a Citation Award for its interior design work at the Eli Lilly Campus, where designers used its Integrated Workplace model to help create more collaborative workspaces.

-Duncan G. Stroik Architect, LLC of South Bend received a Citation Award for its interior design work at the Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe in La Crosse, Wis., which is one of the first major Catholic churches built in a classical manner in more than 50 years.

For more information on the American Institute of Architects Indiana or to see more information on the award winners, go to www.aiaindiana.org.

Source: The American Institute of Architects Indiana

  • Print
  • E-Mail
  • Newsletters