updated: 4/29/2011 1:09:41 PM

Chamber Names Interim President

InsideINdianaBusiness.com Report

A past board chair of the Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce has been named interim president of the organization. David Griffiths is stepping in as a national search begins for the next full-time president. Griffiths retired as president of Citizen's Gas & Coke, which is now Citizen's Energy Group, five years ago.

Twitter Facebook LinkedIn

Continued Below...

  • Print
  • E-Mail
  • Newsletters

April 29

News Release

(INDIANAPOLIS - April 29, 2011). David N. Griffiths, a past board chair, has been named Interim President of the Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce, and a committee will commence a national search for the next Chamber President immediately.

Griffiths retired as President and CEO of Citizen’s Gas & Coke (now Citizen’s Energy) five years ago. Since then, he has written two books on quality management and assisted companies in building leadership capacity.

“We are delighted that Dave has agreed to help the Chamber through this transition period. As a longtime member of the Chamber’s board, he is uniquely qualified to lead the organization while the national search is underway,” said John Neighbours, Chairman of the Chamber.

“I’m enthusiastic about this opportunity to help the Chamber and will work with the staff and board leadership to develop and hone their leadership skills,” Griffiths said. His early career included an assignment with EDP to redesign the Social Security System in the Philippines, public sector positions in Indiana as the Deputy Commissioner of Revenue and Executive Assistant to former Governor Edgar Whitcomb and a dozen years with General Motors. His career at Citizen’s spanned twenty years. He is also past chair of the Krannert School Dean’s Advisory Council.

John Thompson, Vice Chair Elect and Treasurer of the Indy Chamber, will chair the search for the new President. In addition to Thompson and Neighbours, the other members of the Search Committee are:

• Stephen Corbitt, President and CEO, Corbitt & Sons Construction Co., Inc.

• Daniel Elsener, President, Marian University

• Jamie Merisotis, President & CEO, Lumina Foundation

• Dr. Beverley Pitts, President, University of Indianapolis

• Zachary Scott, President, Ohio Valley District, UPS

• Joe Slaughter, President, Herff Jones, Inc.

• J. Albert Smith, Jr., President, Chase in Central Indiana

• Steven Walker, Chairman & CEO, Walker Information, Inc.

Founded in 1890 by Colonel Eli Lilly and a group of Indianapolis business leaders, the Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce is one of the largest metropolitan chambers in the country serving nearly 4,000 members throughout Central Indiana.

The Chamber remains focused on representing members throughout the legislative session, advocating for business-friendly legislation. Other priorities include working with a community coalition to improve public schools and working with the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership to encourage consideration of a robust public transit system to achieve a vision of making Central Indiana a premier place to live and do business. Membership is growing with record new member sales in the first quarter of this year.

Source: Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce

  • Print
  • E-Mail
  • Newsletters